Eggs 101

20120217-171253.jpg

I was about to make a strawberry cake (Duncan Hines, don’t get excited people) when I realized my eggs went out on February 14th… Since it’s my cheat day on my diet, I really wanted to make this cake and I didn’t want to trek all the way to the store to get more eggs (even though the store is only about two miles away, that’s beside the point). So I googled and found this nifty tip I thought I’d share…. How to tell if an egg is bad: put it in water – if it stays at the bottom of the bowl or cup, it’s good. If it stays at the bottom and tilts a little, it’s still good but should only be used for baking. And if it floats, throw it out! I’ve attached a nice shot of my egg behaving itself and lying on the bottom of the measuring cup, like a good little egg. So I threw that sucker and two of it’s brothers in my cake mix and now I’m patiently waiting for it to finish baking….. Mmmmmm, eggs.

Comments

  1. Check out Hungrygirl.com. She has recipes for 2 ingredient cakes……cake mix and a can of diet soda. Top with light cool whip and you don’t have to wait for a cheat day.

Leave a Reply

